LibGuides: Architecture: Sustainable Urbanism

Recommended Sustainability and the Environment Databases

AASHE- Climate Planning for Campuses
The Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education (AASHE) was founded in 2006 with a mission to promote sustainability in all sectors of higher education. This particular AASHE resource provides information on Climate Planning for Campuses.
Sustainable Urban Development. ASLA
American Society of Landscape Architects ASLA. Points you to a number of good links in this updated (2011) site on Sustainable Urban Development.
Building Green Suite
Sustainable design strategies, green building materials, and case studies of high-performance buildings.
ScienceDirect
Articles and books covering the physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, and humanities, from 1995 - present.
GreenFILE
Indexes scholarly and general interest articles and other documents about global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, etc.
Academic OneFile
Multi-disciplinary database, key subjects: biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.

Websites

Design Trust for Public Space
Find publications on design and planning projects that have transformed public spaces in NYC.
Green Home NYC
A community-oriented, volunteer-run organization, which promotes environmentally sustainable urban buildings.
U.S. Green Building Council
USGBC is a non-profit organization committed to expanding sustainable building practices. It developed LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design), a voluntary, consensus-based national rating system for developing high-performance, sustainable buildings. Learn about it on this site.
NYC Department of Design and Construction Office of Sustainable Design
The department created the Office of Sustainable Design in 1997 for the purposes of identifying and implementing cost-effective ways to promote greater environmental responsibility in building design. Find in-depth manuals to inform the design process at this site.
High Performance Buildings Magazine
The magazine gives information about the benefits of innovative technologies and energy-efficient design and operation. You'll find case studies of buildings, developed through the support of leading practitioners in the sustainability movement.
United Nations Energy and Environment Statistics
The United Nations collects statistics and produces reports about the environment, energy usage and energy trade.
Science.gov
Searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. Science.gov is governed by the interagency Science.gov Alliance
Envirofacts - EPA
This EPA website provides access to several EPA databases to provide information about environmental activities that may affect air, water, and land anywhere in the United States.
Environmental Topics-NASA/Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center
SEDAC focuses on human interactions in the environment and provides data collections on various environmental topics.
The Sustainable Cities Institute
Case studies, reports and more. Focus on US cities. See their resources on Climate Adaptation and Resilience.
CUNY Institute for Sustainable Cities.
The Institute works to realize cities as part of the solution to global sustainability challenges. Find reports from PlaNYC, NOAH, and other organizations.
Princeton Review's Guide to Green Colleges
This is a guide to 286 U.S. colleges and universities that have demonstrated an exemplary commitment to sustainability.

CCNY Master of Science in Sustainability

Click HERE to find complete information on this inter-disciplinary graduate program.

CCNY Green Initiative

CCNY Green

Take a look at CCNY's Sustainable Web site to keep up with what the college is doing to help the environment!

Books

Enjoy browsing our shelves?

Use these keywords to discover SUSTAINABILITY and the ENVIRONMENT titles in the architecture library and catalog:

Air Pollution Environmental aspects	Beverage containers Recycling
Appropriate technology	Biodiversity
Aquaculture Technological innovations	Biodiversity conservation
Architect-designed houses	Biotechnology Environmental aspects
Architectural design Environmental aspects	Building Environmental aspects
Architecture Environmental aspects	Building materials Environmental aspects
Architecture, Domestic Environmental aspects	Buildings Environmental engineering
Architecture and climate	Business Environmental aspects
Architecture and energy conservation	Business enterprises Environmental aspects
Architecture and solar radiation	Carbon dioxide Environmental aspects
Atmospheric ozone Environmental aspects	Chemical industry Environmental aspects
Chemical plants Waste disposal	Coral reef ecology
Chemical plants Health aspects	Crops and climate
Chemical plants Social aspects	Deep ecology
Chemicals Physiological effect	Design Environmental aspects
City planning Environmental aspects	Design Equipment and supplies Environmental aspects
Climate and civilization	Design and technology
Climatic changes Environmental aspects	Detergent pollution of rivers, lakes, etc.
Clothing trade Environmental aspects	Detergents –Biodegradation
Clothing trade Waste minimalization	Direct marketing Environmental aspects
Commercial art Environmental aspects	Disaster victims Dwellings
Community gardens	Ecology in art
Conservation of natural resources	Economic development Environmental aspects
Coral reef conservation	Electric power Conservation
Ecological engineering	Electric vehicles
Earth houses