Purely digital resource of drawings, collages, paintings, photographs, magazines, articles, slides and multi-media material. Free online for public viewing and academic study.
This directory was established early 1990s, as a "public service to promote an awareness of who African American architects are and where they are located. The sole qualification for listing is licensure in one of the fifty U.S. jurisdictions and their territories (Directory) – hosted by NOMA
The international prize, which is awarded each year to a living architect/s for significant achievement, was established by the Pritzker family of Chicago through their Hyatt, Foundation in 1979.
Architype Review is a specialty publication featuring the most current building types, focusing on the review and study of innovation & advancement in world architecture. An array of projects in a number of building categories. Good graphics.
The site offers over 800 Building Types Studies of particular building type, with photos, drawings, specifications, descriptions and design solutions. Additional projects are added monthly. The site also offers project portfolios on popular projects world wide. The portfolios offer detailed information on the people & trades involved in each project. Good place to start for those thinking of thesis projects.
BTRIC at Oak Ridge National Laboratory is the premier U.S. research facility devoted to the development of technologies that improve the energy efficiency and environmental compatibility of residential and commercial buildings. It has fact sheets, publications, and information on working with this center.
This site presents images from The Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) and the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) collections. Including digitized images of measured drawings, black-and-white photographs, color transparencies, photo captions, data pages including written histories, and supplemental materials.
This site calls itself "the world's largest publicly available database on architectural and building data." Good for images and basic information on buildings worldwide (in approximately 10,000 cities); many images. Viewing is free, but usage rights & copies must be purchased.
This site includes architecture from around the world and across history. It can be searched or browsed by buildings, architects, architectural types, places. (The CCNY Architecture Library has the more complete Great Buildings CD on Reserve in the library.)
The magazine gives information about the benefits of innovative technologies and energy-efficient design and operation. Including case studies of buildings, developed through the support of leading practitioners in the sustainability movement.
Project news, plans, specifications, and analysis services for construction professionals. The collection features a sample of LEED Registered and Certified projects for which a Dodge Report is available.
The site is sponsored by the National Trust for Historic Preservation. A group of preservation organizations and professionals, devotes a web page to each of the 91 Modernist houses built in New Canaan between 1939 and 1979.
A portal for a wide range of home and housing construction. It has statistics, reference information, links to industry news services, government data and publications, and commercial products information
NIBS is an interface between government and the private sector. Its mission is to: improve the building regulatory environment; facilitate the introduction of new and existing products and technology into the building process.
This institute helps to make buildings better for people and the environment, and promotes energy efficiency in buildings. The site offers sections on lighting, architecture, and mechanical systems.
This database uses a 3-D computer model of Manhattan in the year 2000 as a click-on map. One can view the city, present and past, and access this NYC museum's collections of postcards, urban views and construction photographs through an online, searchable database.
This exhibit commemorates the Centennial of the CCNY campus, which was designed by George B. Post, and is considered one of the finest examples of neo-Gothic architecture at any academic institution in the United States.
This city agency identifies and designates NYC landmarks and buildings in the historic districts. A number of designation reports are available as PDFs.
The museum offers information on skyscrapers worldwide. It explores tall buildings as objects of design, products of technology, sites of construction, and more.
A list of innovative projects erected by the Institute's contributing contractors in NYC. Includes images and PDFs of related articles in the institute's Metals in Construction publication.
The Bernard and Anne Spitzer School of Architecture
Click HEREto access the School's Web site. Then click on Programs to read about the undergraduate and graduate architecture programs.
Consists of zoning districts for the City and the regulations governing land use and development. The Architecture Library offers the latest NYC Zoning Handbook accessible at the Reserve Desk.
Arcadis: Design & Consultancy for Natural & Built Assets explores the three demands of People, Planet and Profit to develop an indicative ranking of 50 of the world's leading cities
Increases resilience and sustainable growth of New York communities by advancing progressive land use solutions, community-based development and building standards and codes.
City Planning created a short video as part of an extensive public outreach campaign, with the goal of generating input on how to modify zoning rules to remove regulatory barriers to resiliency investments in the floodplain.
The database is a collection of digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world. Search for buildings by country, city, style, title, architect, date of construction, as well as other fields.
Planning & development news, jobs, & events A comprehensive site on planning and development in the news as well as links to important planning and development sites on the web.
The Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education (AASHE) was founded in 2006 with a mission to promote sustainability in all sectors of higher education. This particular AASHE resource provides information on Climate Planning for Campuses.
Contains articles on every aspect of visual arts including painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography. Also includes biographical information on major artists, and bibliographical references.
Access to a number of art, architecture and design dictionaries published by Oxford University Press. Search sources collectively or search within an individual title.
Each of the 59 district profiles contains summary data on population size; birth, death and infant mortality rates; land area and land uses; and levels of income support. It also provide land uses and census tract, select facilities and program Sites, including public and private schools, parks, public safety, health, mental health and other social service facilities.
Content provides population-related statistical information, including demographic data obtained from New York City, New York State, and federal government agencies.
Social Explorer is dedicated to providing demographic information in an easily understood format: data maps. The database contains hundreds of interactive data maps of the United States. From Queens College.
Contains information and statistics specific to New York City, organized in eighteen (18) categories; includes business, culture, education, income, housing, sports, and more.
Format: Data, Statistics provided by Baruch College, City University of New York
Original films and videos including several architectural productions on Parking Structures, and Greg Lynn's Virtual City. Films run three to six minutes.
An organization that leads in promoting urban sustainability. Among it's many publications is "The Value of Green Infrastructure: A Guide to Recognizing Its Economic, Environmental and Social Benefits" released in 2011.
Integrated Design & Building Information Modeling (BIM)
Provides links to research centers and laboratories, including Construction Engineering Research. Installations provides information about research projects and centers on Building Information Modeling, Building Loads Analysis, and more.
A gateway for up-to-date information on integrated "Whole Building" design techniques and technologies. The site offers a PDF of the just published U.S. National Building Information Modeling Standard.
