LibGuides: Architecture: Library Research Guide (FIQWS)

OFF-CAMPUS ACCESS

Use your CCNY email credentials for off-campus access to CCNY Library Databases and Journals. Also, get access to Interlibrary Loan services with CCNY credentials.

Forgot Password?

Reset CCNY email password: CITYMAIL password reset.

Having difficulty? Contact CCNY IT Services at servicedesk@ccny.cuny.edu or (212) 650-7878.

Access CUNY E-Resources off-campus. Databases and Journals purchased and shared by all CUNY libraries. Use CUNYFirst credentials to access CUNY E-Resources. (forgotten CUNYfirst credentials? Retrieve Username, or Reset Password.)

Fall Semester

Mon-Fri.: 10:00 am - 8:00 pm

Sat.: 10:00 am -2:00 pm

Sun.: Closed

NEED PERSONAL LIBRARY RESEARCH ASSISTANCE??

Contact: Prof. Nilda Sanchez-Rodriguez (212) 650-8766 or Ms. Taida Sainvil (212) 650-8767

Email: Nilda Sanchez-Rodriguez | nsanchez@ccny.cuny.edu

Taida Sainvil | tsainvil@ccny.cuny.edu

Chat: Architecture Library Website

Fall 2021 Semester

Mon-Fri.: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Sat.: Closed

Sun.: Closed

Book a Virtual Appointment: HERE

ACCESS TO LIBRARY MATERIALS

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat provides complete bibliographic information on nearly all materials published in all subject areas in all languages. It draws its information from the library holdings of thousands of libraries around the world. Included in the database are books, periodicals (but not individual articles), sound and video recordings, electronic resources, dissertations and theses.

GOOGLE Books
Browse books online, buy or borrow book from a CUNY library.
E-BOOK Collections
E-BOOK Central (formerly Ebrary) external link. A constantly expanding collection of thousands of E-BOOKS on a broad variety of disciplines.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,000 peer-reviewed journals.
In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,000 journals.
Art Full Text/Art Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Art Full Text is a foundational art research database providing full-text art journals and books. It covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, film and architecture.

This resource is limited to eight simultaneous CCNY users.
Avery Index to Architecture Periodicals This link opens in a new window
a comprehensive listing of citations to journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Avery indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. This resource also includes the EBSCO eBook Academic Collection, a growing collection which currently includes 113,000 titles (as of March 2013). This allows students and faculty access to all these e-books, covering a broad range of disciplines.
Building Green Suite This link opens in a new window
BuildingGreen Suite gives information on green design in a membership-based website format. This online resource features comprehensive, practical information on a wide range of topics related to sustainable building--from energy efficiency and recycled-content materials to land-use planning and indoor air quality. BuildingGreen Suite integrates online versions of GreenSpec product listings, high-quality articles about green buildings, peer-to-peer comments, and more.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches the Web for articles, books, and other scholarly materials in many different disciplines. Includes citations, open access links, as well as the CCNY link resolver which links to our subscribed resources.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Covers the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a database of journals and primary sources that offers full-text to more than 2,300 journals.
Search and browse JSTOR citations from a mobile device.

To find out more about mobile apps, visit our Mobile Resources page.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a database of materials published by Elsevier and its affiliates, consisting of over 1800 journal and book titles. The overall focus is on science and engineering with some some social sciences and humanities titles covered as well.
Web of Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Web of Knowledge Covers over 22,000 journals, 23 million patents, 12,000 conference proceedings, 5,000 books, and now scholarly Web content via the Web Citation Index. The searchable databases include: Web of Science (Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index) and Medline.

Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference is a database consisting of over 180 reference books published by Oxford University Press covering all areas of knowledge. Oxford Quick Reference contains 125 core subject and language dictionaries, and over 16,000 illustrations, including colour photographs, line diagrams, maps, and tables. The database contains entries that are appropriate for students and researchers at all levels.
This resource is limited to five simultaneous CCNY users.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A rich resource of several hundred online versions of print reference books divided into 18 subject categories.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Joining the original Grove Art reference sources--The Dictionary of Art (1996), and The Oxford Companion to Western Art (2001)--are the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Reviews today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social current events, and language arts classes.

Cities and Buildings Database
Courtesy of Univ. of Washington. An international image database of cities and buildings. Search by country, city, style, title, architect, date of construction, as well as other fields.
NYC Sanborn Fire Insurance, Topographic and Property Maps
NYPL has digitized nearly 9,000 pages from 162 atlases documenting New York City's changing geography and built environment.

Manage your bibliographic citations. The following computer-based bibliographic management programs helps organize citations, format papers, and create bibliographies in a variety of styles. Each program allows you to download citation information directly from selected online databases into your own bibliographic database.

Citation Machine
An interactive web tool designed to assist high school, college, and university students, their teachers, and independent researchers in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Zotero
A free open-source citation manager especially useful for new media sources (emails, websites, blog posts, maps, etc.). Easy to annotate, attach PDFs, and take snapshots of websites for future reference and allows synching to an online server.
EndNote
A proprietary bibliographic management software and a powerful tool for researchers. Offers sophisticated, flexible tools for organizing references for creating bibliographies.
Purdue Writing Lab
Offers free resources including Writing and Teaching Writing, Research, Grammar and Mechanics, Style Guides

How to Evaluate Resources
Learn how to evaluate resources Courtesy of Berkeley Library
Thesis and Dissertation Research: Environmental Design
Consult the Thesis and Dissertation Research, a comprehensive online guide Courtesy of UC/Berkley’s Environmental Design
Sustainable Design Resources: Design
Resources related to sustainable environmental design. This research guide is Courtesy of the Berkeley Library, University of California

These LibGuides provide an overview on how to write a literature review in general.

How To: Write a Literature Review: Writing a Literature Review
A guide to writing a Literature Review Courtesy of Lloyd Sealy Library, John Jay (CUNY)
Write a Literature Review
For help with writing a literature review. Courtesy of the University Library at UC Santa Cruz
Literature Reviews
Learn how to write a short literature review essay for various disciplines. Courtesy of York College Library
CCNY Writing Center
For help in writing papers, students should visit CCNY's Writing Center in NAC. Make an appointment or check out their online guides.
Writing about Literature
This Guide was created as a joint project of the Academic Resource Center and the William H. Hannon Library.

The New York Times Digital is now available to all CUNY students, faculty and staff! Everybody with a `cuny.edu` email domain should now be able to activate a digital subscription.

New York Times Digital This link opens in a new window
For access to New York Times Digital, full access to the NYTimes.com page and the NY Times smart phone app simply register with your CCNY Email address.

Be sure to create a NYTimes.com account using your City College email address. You can enter a new password, or use your existing email password if you prefer.
Select the emails you'd like to receive from the NY Times, then click "Create My Account." On the Welcome page, click "Continue" and select "Check your email." Look for a "Confirm your email" message from the NY Times in your City College email account (it should arrive within 15 minutes). Click on the link to confirmation email.
If you have any questions please contact Sean O'Heir at soheir@ccny.cuny.edu,
Wall Street Journal digital subscription This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal is available to all members of the CUNY community. Use your City College email address to activate your account for online & smartphone app access. Click more for subscription details
1. Professor/Staff Membership Expiration
All professors & staff retain WSJ membership for one year after activating. After that, they will have to re-activate their membership.

2. Student Membership Expiration
When a student activates their membership, they are required to input their graduation date & year. This is their membership expiration date. If they graduate later than expected and lose access, they can always re-activate their membership.

CCNY also has subscriptions to several databases that contain the full text of newspaper articles from American and international publications:

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) full text database of ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals published in the US, including magazines on business, child rearing, and ethnic history. Currently over 270 publications are included. The focus of the database is news, social issues, culture, and related issues. It is appropriate for persons at all academic levels.

This resource is limited to 95 simultaneous CUNY users.
New York Times - Historical Edition This link opens in a new window
The New York Times (1851 - 2020) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Architecture: Library Research Guide (FIQWS)

OFF-CAMPUS ACCESS

Use your CCNY email credentials for off-campus access to CCNY Library Databases and Journals. Also, get access to Interlibrary Loan services with CCNY credentials.

Forgot Password?

Reset CCNY email password: CITYMAIL password reset.

Having difficulty? Contact CCNY IT Services at servicedesk@ccny.cuny.edu or (212) 650-7878.

Access CUNY E-Resources off-campus. Databases and Journals purchased and shared by all CUNY libraries. Use CUNYFirst credentials to access CUNY E-Resources. (forgotten CUNYfirst credentials? Retrieve Username, or Reset Password.)

Fall Semester

Mon-Fri.: 10:00 am - 8:00 pm

Sat.: 10:00 am -2:00 pm

Sun.: Closed

NEED PERSONAL LIBRARY RESEARCH ASSISTANCE??

ACCESS TO LIBRARY MATERIALS

These LibGuides provide an overview on how to write a literature review in general.

The New York Times Digital is now available to all CUNY students, faculty and staff! Everybody with a cuny.edu email domain should now be able to activate a digital subscription.

CCNY also has subscriptions to several databases that contain the full text of newspaper articles from American and international publications:

The New York Times Digital is now available to all CUNY students, faculty and staff! Everybody with a `cuny.edu` email domain should now be able to activate a digital subscription.