- You MUST activate your ID card at any CCNY library circulation desk to get OFF CAMPUS access to the library’s databases.
- When you click on a library database from off campus, you will see a login screen. Put in your CCNY Email: USERNAME and PASSWORD.
FIND BOOKS at City College or in another CUNY library:
- Use the library online catalog (CUNY+). Or click "books, videos and more" on the CCNY library's web site.
- Begin with Keyword (all fields) Search using a few target search words (Did your search retrieves too many non-relevant hits? Try a "keyword in subject" search).
- Also, search for books by title and author---check the menu box for search options.
Examples: K=earthworks
More focused: Keywords in subject = earthworks
Keywords in subject: public art and landscape
Did you retrieve results on your topic of interest? Click the library’s name for “Availability” Then, note the book’s “call number” (book’s shelf address) and “Location”. Locations are as follows: Reference (non-circulating), Reserve (2hr loan), and Stacks (borrow for up to 4 wks).
- Need help locating book(s)? Ask the library staff to assist.
- Renew Books ONLINE from the CUNY+ Catalog by clicking the “My Account/Renew” tab on top. CCNY ID cards MUST BE VALIDATED TO BE ABLE TO RENEW.
- “Requests” BOOKS from other CUNY libraries. CLICS (CUNY Libraries Inter-Campus System) Ships the requested book to a library of your choice within 2 to 3 business days.
Did your search retrieve a title NOT available at CCNY? Click “Request a copy” | Enter CCNY ID Barcode & Password (by default Enter Barcode again) | Select desired pickup location! .
You should receive an email (Citymail) when the book has arrived at the desired pickup location. Cohen Library Circulation Desk is the pickup location for CCNY--Return it to ANY CUNY library.
FIND BOOKS at non-CUNY libraries:
- Search in WorldCat (a world-wide online book catalog). Located on the CCNY Libraries Databases A-Z list. Access "Find Articles and Databases" from the CCNY library’s home page under “Research Resources”.
- Find books or journals on WorldCat that CCNY or CUNY does not have. (Note: City College CUNY SCHOOLS (OTHER THAN CITY) (system highlights CCNY & CUNY ownership) click: desired title. Not available at City College or other CUNY School? Then, click "Libraries worldwide that own item” or “Request via Interlibrary Loan”. The desired title may be in the New York Public Library or a local private college library, like Columbia Univ. Only at a private college library? See a CCNY Librarian for access.
Find ARTICLE(s) in a journal (periodical):
- Academic Search Complete. In ‘Find Articles and Databases” under “Research Resource” on the CCNY libraries homepage. Limit your search results to Full-Text and Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) articles by selecting box options.
Examples: k= Maya Lin OR k= Earthworks and art
- Take advantage of the option to refine your results, and use citation tools. Click desired title | Click "Cite" icon on the right for citation information.
- Avery Index. Excellent architectural index from Columbia University. Caution: Most articles are not available to read online, but the CCNY Architecture Library offers many of them in print. Click: " Find-It! @ CUNY" to determine whether we offer the journal.
- JSTOR. Excellent source—ALL scholarly journals & full-text PDFs.
Find information in a reliable ONLINE Encyclopedia:
Find information on artists like: Andy Goldsworthy, Robert Smithson, Alice Acock, etc. in CCNY library Databases A to Z, such as:
- Credo Reference gives access to full-text reference books by highly credible publisher.
- Oxford Art Online an authoritative encyclopedic source for art information. Includes a bibliography of relevant titles, online sites, research strategies, etc. Recommended!
- Gale Virtual Reference A rich resource of several hundred online versions of print reference books divided into 18 subject categories: Arts… Recommended!
Find Images Online: (Art and Photographs)
- Find high-resolution images. Use the CCNY Libraries database ARTstor. In ‘Find Articles and Databases” under “Research Resource” on the CCNY libraries homepage.
- Find Public Art in NYC: www.nyc-arts.org/collections/32795/public-art-in-new-york-city-2
- Curbed A popular website, which covers NYC and many of the country's urban centers. This link brings
you to a focus on public art in NYC.
- DOT The NYC Department of Transportation partners with artists to present temporary public art in
neighborhoods across the City. This site shows a lot of creative and low-key public art projects.
- Land Art Database: from the Center for Land Use Interpretation, a research and education organization
interested in understanding the nature and extent of human interaction with the earth’s surface.
- Looking for images of New York? See: the Architecture Librarian’s Image Resources on this Research Guide.
- Additional sources of images online: See: the CCNY Libraries Guide to Image Collections: libguides.ccny.cuny.edu/images.
Find Information on NYC neighborhoods:
- Search through the F128 Call numbers in the architecture library for books on New York City. (Search the F128 call number online in CUNY+ as well).
- Look at The Encyclopedia of New York City in the Architecture Library Reference section: F128.3 .E75 2010.
- Look at NYC Community District Profiles for information on all 59 districts. www.nyc.gov/html/dcp/html/lucds/cdstart.shtml
- Look at the NYC Landmark Preservation Commission’s Designation Reports: www.nyc.gov/html/lpc/html/forms/forms_pub.shtml
Google Scholar:
This database connects the searcher to some of the library's online full-text journal databases and to relevant information Google Books. It may not be comprehensive, so don’t rely on it alone.
Google Scholar. In ‘Find Articles and Databases” under “Research Resource” on the CCNY libraries homepage. [Access GOOGLE SCHOLAR from OFF CAMPUS through the Library’s Databases]
Extra Help:
Visit the CCNY Writing Center located in NAC, Amsterdam Ave. Plaza. The Center also offers online help: www.ccny.cuny.edu/writing/owl.cfm
- Writing help on: selecting a topic, keywords searches, choosing books and articles, avoiding plagiarism, and accessing a worksheet prior to writing your paper, see: Loyola Marymount Library's helpful website.
- Organize your list of resources (books, journals, web sites) Select: MLA style only easybib.com
- MLA and APA citation guidelines: Learn to do it yourself. Examples and rules. Check list of references to ensure each is correctly formatted. From Purdue University. Purdue Online Writing Lab
- Sources: Primary vs. Secondary. Victoria College guidelines.
|
